top of page

parents as teachers

Parents as Teachers (PAT) builds strong communities, thriving families and children who are healthy, safe and ready to learn by matching parents and caregivers with trained professionals who make regular personal home visits during a child’s earliest years in life, from prenatal through kindergarten. 

 

THERE ARE FOUR DYNAMIC COMPONENTS TO THE PARENTS AS TEACHERS MODEL:  

  • Personal Visits  

  • Group Connections 

  • Resource Network 

  • Child Screening 


TOGETHER, THESE FOUR COMPONENTS FORM A COHESIVE PACKAGE OF SERVICES WITH FOUR PRIMARY GOALS:  

  • Increase parent knowledge of early childhood development and improve parent practices 

  • Provide early detection of developmental delays and health issues 

  • Prevent child abuse and neglect 

  • Increase children’s school readiness and success 

 

WHAT IS A PERSONAL VISIT? 

The Evidence-Based Home Visiting Model is the comprehensive parent education model used by Parents as Teachers affiliates. The model provides a wide array of services to families with children from prenatal through kindergarten, and also offers deep insights into early childhood development. Since 1984, our model has been rigorously tested by peer-reviewed studies and shown to produce outstanding results for families.

Learn more about our home visit model.

3 (4).png

interested in
 parents as teachers?

Meet The pat Team

Braun Randi__Trainer.jpg

Randi

Braun

Project Manager

rbraun@rapc.org

828-586-0661

jennifer_edited.jpg

Jennifer

Smith

Parent Educator, Haywood County

jsmith@rapc.org

828-586-0661

IMG-0249.jpg

Sherre

Dean

Parent Educator, Haywood County

sdean@rapc.org

828-586-0661

monica matthews_edited.jpg

Monica Matthews

Parent Educator, Clay  and

Cherokee Counties

mmatthews@rapc.org

828-586-0661

tami 062723 final-web.png

Tami

Threats

Parent Educator, Jackson County

tthreats@rapc.org

828-586-0661

KKirkland Pic.jpg

Kayla

Kirkland

Parent Educator, Swain County

kkirkland@swainmail.org

(828) 488-3129  ext. 5632

bottom of page